Sunday Funday II: Mac Daddy

It would be hard to name my most favourite food ever. (Can coffee count?)

If pressed, though, I would probably put pasta at the top. I mean, you know a good place by how they do noodles. And you remember really bad ones. A week of Girl Guide camp and constant canned, mushy mac and cheese from the Heinz Corporation being particularly scarring. A dinner of short ribs with deep-fried squares of cheesy goodness, at an Irish pub in New York City (P.J. Clarke’s on 3rd Avenue) being amazing.

Tangy BBQ sauce, gooey cheese sauce.

untitled-3475This edition of Sunday Funday was marred by an abysmal showing by my Bears – to the cheeseheads Packers, ironically enough. I tried to forget it, as I ate a few helpings of mac n’ cheese.

The process for making the ribs was great and very easy, courtesy of Bon Appetit: Best Ever BBQ’d Ribs. Only deviation was that I added a brining step and had the meat soaking overnight, to make sure we wouldn’t end up with dry ribs. The BBQ sauce that I used, when asked, was Guy Fieri’s Root Beer BBQ Sauce. I’m not 100% if I’d use this again, as the times to reduce the sauce were WAY off (and only thickened once I added a bit of cornstarch and water).

The ribs essentially are cooked by the time the oven stage is done, and only need the flames for BBQ sauce application and crispening.

untitled-3471

untitled-3472

And then, this bad boy: Taste of Home: Company Mac and Cheese

untitled-3474

The recipe was doubled for our crew. (Or my gluttony.) Additional variations on this recipe: a little more grated old cheddar, a little less cream cheese – mainly because I made this early Sunday morning, and nothing was open to get the proper amounts. Also, we didn’t have breadcrumbs but we did have about 3 bags of croutons, each 1/4 full, so I smashed them into crumbs.

Pantry clear out for the win.

untitled-3476

I want to be buried in this. Is that wrong?

Leave a Reply

