One of my work colleagues just successfully defended her PhD dissertation last week, so the office organized a little celebratory coffee break for her on Monday. My contribution: salted caramel and chocolate mini cupcakes.

IMG_0463I found this awesome, fudgy, caramel frosting recipe here: Sally’s Baking Addiction Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting. The only change I made was to add more cream to get the consistency I wanted. (The drizzle is the caramel from the first steps of that same recipe.)

IMG_0459

 

This used my trusty chocolate cake recipe from this post. I bought a couple mini muffin tins, something that I’ve wanted for awhile. They’re great for making snacks for a break or potluck, because everyone in the world, except me and my close friends, will take a knife to a cupcake and halve it or – worse – quarter it. No one had to feel guilty here, though.

They’re like muffin vitamins, in the words of Jim Gaffigan.

Leave a Reply

